Book Of Air - vvolk

The music of vvolk is played by a group of 18 improvisers with roots in jazz and classical music. The group investigates performing and improvising music, in close relation to present time; what are the possibilities in playing music, when changes in this music pass by unnoticed? How do we as musicians relate to the running time of a performance? How does our hearing and memory react to these slow changes? As a result vvolk let’s you experience music which is less perceived in the present time, but rather occurs in our memory of the past. This clearly challenges the improvising musicians, and makes audience and performers discover new territories in collective improvisation. 


Stijn Cools - drums & composition

Sep François - vibraphone & percussion

Hendrik Vanattenhoven - double bass

Nathan Wouters - double bass

Laurens Smet - double bass & electric bass

Bert Cools - electric and acoustic guitars

Ruben Machtelinckx - electric bariton guitar

Benjamin Sauzereau - electric guitar

Niels Van Heertum - euphonium

Viktor  Perdieus - tenor saxophone

Thomas Jillings - tenor saxophone

Erik Bogaerts - alto saxophone and clarinet

Frans van Isacker - alto saxophone and clarinet

Mathieu Robert - soprano saxophone

Stefan Bracaval - flute

Indre Jurgeleviciuté - kankles

Fruz Tonteling - harmonium

Wout Gooris - fender rhodes 

Black Mango

A ten-piece strong instrumental collective, aiming right at your soul with a horde of grooves and carefully crafted melodies. It's an explosive band, using warm and utterly soulful layers of improvised music to build an intense and overwhelming show.  


Loic Dumoulin - trumpet 

Sam Joris - trumpet

Alban Sarens - tenor saxophone

Peter Delannoye - trombone 

Joppe Bestevaar - baritone saxophone 

Pieter Nevejans - tuba 

Wout Gooris - keys 

Lukas Somers - guitar

Gerben Brys - bass 

Toni Vitacolonna - drums

© Trui Amerlinck



Marjan Van Rompay - alto sax

Fien Desmet - voice

Wout Gooris - piano

Bekijk hier een concertfilm

© Trui Amerlinck

8 o'clock shadows


Sam Joris - trumpet

Rob Banken - alto sax

Bruno Van der Haegen - tenor sax

Peter Delannoye - trombone 

Joppe Bestevaar - baritone sax

Wout Gooris - piano 

Janos Bruneel - double bass

Jelle Van Giel - drums

© Trui Amerlinck